10 teams confirmed for 2013 Jubilee Trophy women’s championship


12 September 2013

The 10 final teams that will compete in Canada Soccer’s 2013 National Championships Jubilee Trophy competition are now confirmed, with Ontario’s Scarborough GS United clinching the final provincial spot on Sunday 8 September.

Three former winners – Surrey United FC from 2011, Halifax Dunbrack from 2010 and Edmonton Victoria from 2009 – are among the final teams that will compete in Halifax, Nova Scotia next month for the annual adult women’s club championship.

Other teams competing in the 2013 edition are Saskatoon’s Hollandia Impact, Winnipeg’s WSA North Stars, Royal-Sélect Beauport, Winsloe-Charlottetown Royals, Conception Bay South’s Holy Cross, and Yellowknife FC.

From the start of the competition, there are 79 teams from across Canada that compete for a chance to win the Jubilee Trophy, making it one of the largest national championships for women’s club football in the world. This year marks the 32nd edition of the competition, with the final 10 teams to meet in Halifax from 9-14 October 2013.

While the final 10 teams won’t have met each other previously during the course of the 2013 season, some of them will be familiar foes from past editions of the Jubilee Trophy competition. Six of this year’s final 10 teams also competed in the 2012 competition while two others competed at the national level as recently as 2011.

Surrey United FC has the longest streak, now 10 years including the 2013 edition (a Canadian record). In nine previous years, Surrey United has never finished worse than third place, notably winning gold in both 2006 (as host) and 2011.

Of note, two active Surrey United FC players have been to each of the past nine editions with hopes of making it 10 straight in 2013: Kate Qually and Bianca Wilkinson.

In past editions, the famous Surrey United FC club has featured FIFA Women’s World Cup players like Geri Donnelly, Martina Franko, Randee Hermus, Erin McLeod and Katie Thorlakson (who is still active with the team in 2013). It also featured a young Sophie Schmidt in 2006 before she debuted at the FIFA Women’s World Cup at China 2007.

As recently as last year, Olympic medal winner Desiree Scott competed in the Jubilee Trophy competition for Winnipeg’s WSA North Stars (who return in 2013 without Scott). Four years ago, Scott famously turned a positive performance with Winnipeg South End United into a re-introduction to the National Teams program.

Since transformed into one of the best defensive midfielders in the world, Scott now plays professionally for USA’s FC Kansas City and was an NWSL Second XI all-star in 2013.

The depth and scope of the annual National Championships is just another reminder of Canada’s love affair with the beautiful game – both with men (who compete for the amateur Challenge Trophy) and women. Football is the sport with the highest participation numbers in the country while the 365,000 registered women’s footballers make up FIFA’s third largest total behind USA and Germany.

In 2014 and 2015, Canada will host two of the biggest women’s sporting events in the world, with the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 to be played from 5-24 August 2014 in four cities and the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 to be played from 5 June to 6 July 2015 from coast to coast in six cities.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply